This Week Around Here

We finally had a normal week around here.

A full week of school has brought with it multiplication. As in multiplication homework. The assignment is five minutes each night learning the basic facts. Alright, I thought, we can do this. Naturally, his first choice for practicing was the suggested online games. Which I was fine with, until the tears. Kid was STRESSING about being timed by the computer. He wasn’t fast enough and the little buzzer was going off and he was stressed.

So, not good. I mean if we have tears at 2 x 1 where are we headed?

So, this happened:

flashcards

Flash cards. We are going to keep it simple here, folks.

Crying stopped, for now anyway.

The arrival of multiplication makes me nervous. Nervous because we are fast approaching the time where I will no longer be able to help with math homework. Fast approaching the tipping point of where my kiddos are officially smarter than I am. It’s no secret I’m not great at math, so really, this is gonna happen sooner rather than later.

In other news at our house this week, one of these track plans (model railroading track plans) is going to come to life:

trackplans

I was completely on board with this because I was informed that the kid would be cleaning his room and clearing out some stuff, but what happened is that his room went from this:

room1

To this:

room2

So, nothing was actually cleared out of his room, and in reality more stuff was added. Anyway, this will be a fun project to watch come together. He draws plans all day long, and now gets the chance to build.

If he doesn’t lose interest again and decide he’d rather play football in the living room.

 

One thought on “This Week Around Here

Leave a comment